Hiatus

I would just like to quickly state that my unintentional hiatus is do to one unconventional bird… the Wug.

This_is_a_wug

He, the Wug, has inspired me to start a list of 38 articles to read for my final linguistics assessment… leading me to disregard my writing and musings at this present time.

The ‘Wug’ Test was devised by linguist Jean Berko Gleason in the 1950’s to elicit English morphological rules with developing children regarding phonological patterns.  For example, when presented with the nonsense word ‘wug’, and asked what would you say if there were two?  One says ‘wugs’ with the voiced phoneme /z/ for the ‘s’ given that the preceding ‘g’ is a voiced consonant.  This is what we do in English as a general pattern for plurals.

However, it got me thinking about people I know in my generation (young, of course), and how they select certain verbs using the morphological ending of -ed for the past tense.  Which do you choose between dreamed and dreamt for one example?  But also, if I were to present different generations of fluent English speakers with nonsense words which sound like a common irregular form in the past tense, would they stick to the common irregular learnt pattern, or would they choose to simply add -ed?  Many studies have looked at this (hence my list of 38 readings…), but moreover, I want to see if there is a generalisation in choice of lexicon, possibly related to the regularity of language overtime…

Well, we will see, and I will share with you my findings later in the year.

In the meantime, you can just thank this cute Wug for my long-term hiatus…

wug-life1

Leave a Reply

